TEXAS STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Application for Registration of a 333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800
Dental Laboratory

Austin, Texas 78701-3942

(512) 463-6400 / Fax: (512) 463-7452
www.tsbde.texas.gov
licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS: Submit a fully completed application. An incomplete application FEE $125

will delay your application approval process. All fields are required. Completion
certificate of the Texas Jurisprudence Assessment taken by the Lab Owner or

Lab General Manager must be attached. You may enter N/A to those questions PERSONAL CHECK OR MONEY

that are not applicable.

ORDER IS ACCEPTABLE

LAB OPERATING NAME

LAB ASSUMED NAME* (Provide If An
Assumed Name Certificate (Doing Business As =
DBA) Is On File With The Texas Secretary Of

State’s Office.

Physical Address

City/State Zip Code

Lab Phone #

Lab email address

Website address

Date the lab opened, or will open for business

Laboratory is: ( check one)
[J Sole owner

1 Partnership

[1 Corporation

If the lab is part of a partnership, give the name of the partnership company, state in which partnered, and the percent of stock the

owned: (or enter n/a)

PARTNERSHIP NAME

STATE PARTNERED

% STOCK OWNED

If a subsidiary corporation, give the name of the parent company, state in which corporated, and the percent of stock the parent

company owns in subsidiary: (or enter n/a)

PARENT COMPANY NAME

STATE INCORPORATED

% STOCK OWNED

Has the applicant completing this application ever held a dental lab

registration in Texas? (¥ Check One)
OYES

ONO

If yes, provide the Texas Dental Lab #

LABORATORY OWNER INFORMATION

Owner Name

Physical Address

City/State Zip Code

Owner Phone #

Owner email address

Has the Lab Owner ever held a Dental Lab registration in Texas? (N Check One)

OYes

0 No

If yes, provide the Texas Dental Lab #
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LABORATORY GENERAL MANAGER INFORMATION: IF THE LAB MANAGER IS THE SAME AS THE OWNER ENTER “SAME”

General Manager Name

Physical Address City/State Zip Code
General Manger Phone # General Manager email address
Has the General Manager ever held a Dental Lab Registration in Texas? If yes, please provide the Texas Dental Lab #
(¥ Check One)

O Yes 0O No

Disciplinary Action or Criminal Offenses All “Yes” answers MUST be explained in detail in a separate SIGNED and NOTARIZED
affidavit. The affidavit should include all relevant dates and identify the relevant jurisdiction and/or entity involved. Failure to disclose
any of the requested information may result in the denial of your application or other appropriate action.

Has the Lab Owner or Manger been arrested, charged, indicted, convicted, pled nolo Lab Owner Lab Manager
contendere or received a court order for any criminal offense of a misdemeanor or

felony? [IYES INO JYES [1NO
Has the Lab Owner or Manager been the subject of a disciplinary investigation or Lab Owner Lab Manager
action (including a cease and desist order) from any licensing authority or

jurisdiction? O YES TONO YES [1NO

Has the Operating Lab Name or Lab Assumed Name ever been investigated, given a | Operating Lab Name Lab Assumed Name
board order by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners?
OYES TONO OYES ONO

ATTESTATION

Title 22, Texas Administrative Code §8116.3 states in part: It shall be the duty of each laboratory owner or manager to notify
the TSBDE, in writing, within 60 days of: (1) a change in ownership or management of the laboratory; (2) a change in
location of the laboratory; (3) closure of the laboratory; (4) a change of designated CDT. (5) a change of designated
employee, if the laboratory is exempted under 8116.5 of the TSBDE Rules. A change of designated employee will require
proof within six (6) months of the change that the designated employee meets continuing education requirements; or (6) a
change in mailing address for the owner or manager of the laboratory.

| attest that | am familiar with the laws and rules regulating dental laboratories in the State of Texas. | further attest that the
Jurisprudence Assessment, dated within the last 12 months, is attached to this application was taken by the laboratory
owner or laboratory general manager.

Date Signature of Dental Laboratory Owner or General Manager

STATE OF COUNTY OF

Before me, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared the applicant whose signature appears above and

who being by me sworn upon oath says that all the facts, statements and answers contained in this application are true

and correct. Sworn and subscribed to before me, the said this the
day of , 20 , to certify which witness my hand and seal of office.

Signature of Notary Public

(Seal)

Dental Laboratory Application / 2018




Certified Dental Technician (CDT) of Record: This section must be completed by the CDT of record. If the Lab
employs 3 or more employees, a CDT of Record is required. Attach a copy of the current renewal card.

Dental Lab CDT Requirements: A dental laboratory is not required to have a CDT if it meets the following requirements:
1. The dental lab is owned by a licensed dentist engaged in the practice of dentistry in this state or by a professional
corporation or partnership in which that dentist is an officer, partner, or employee; or

2. The dental lab is located on the premises within which the dentist practices dentistry; or

3. The laboratory was registered with the TSBDE on September 1, 1987, has renewed each year and all registration fees
have been paid; beneficial ownership of at least 51% interest in the lab has not transferred and the owner or designated
employee of the lab is employed on the premises of the lab for at least 30 hours per week.

CDT of Record Name CDT Number

CDT Issue Date CDT Expiration Date

Physical Address City/State Zip Code

CDT of Record Phone # CDT of Record email address

I am the CDT of Record for another Dental Lab registered in Texas? (¥ Check If yes, please provide the Texas Dental Lab #
o OYes 0 No

CDT of Record Attestation: Chapter 266 of the Texas Occupations Code and Title 22, Part 5, Chapter 116 of the Texas
Administrative Code require that in order to qualify for registration by the TSBDE, a commercial laboratory must employ a
Certified Dental Technician, who must be on premises at least thirty (30) hours per week

| attest that | will be the Certified Dental Technician (CDT) of record for the following dental laboratory:

(Name of the Dental Laboratory listed on Page 1 of this application.)

I understand that the TSBDE Rules and Regulations require that | must be on the premises a minimum of 30 hours per
week for each Texas registered dental laboratory | serve as CDT of Record for. My CDT credential is active and | am
currently registered with the National Board of Certification (NBC) or other TSBDE-recognized credentialing organization. |
understand that if | cease employment with a Texas registered dental laboratory that | will immediately notify the TSBDE of
this change so my CDT credential will be removed from the Texas dental laboratory registration. All facts stated herein are
true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Date Signature of Certified Dental Technician

STATE OF COUNTY OF

Before me, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared the applicant whose signature appears above and

who being by me sworn upon oath says that all the facts, statements and answers contained in this application are true

and correct. Sworn and subscribed to before me, the said this the
day of , 20 , to certify which witness my hand and seal of office.

Signature of Notary Public

(Seal)
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General Information:

Dental Laboratories are required to annually renew by December 31 of each year. The lab may not operate until
the registration is brought into a Current/Active status. The lab may reopen again after you have received your
updated registration certificate and display it where services are provided.

Jurisprudence Assessment: The Jurisprudence Assessment must be taken by the laboratory owner or the laboratory's general
manager. The Assessment is required once every 3 years. If you need assistance in finding the date of your last assessment please
visit: https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/. To purchase the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment visit:
www.tsbde.state.texas.gov/Jurisprudence Upon completing the Jurisprudence Assessment a Certificate of Completion can be
printed that lists a National Board of Certification (NBC) in Dental Laboratory Technology Continuing Education Course Number. The
NBC will award one (1) hour of Professional Development Credit for completing this assessment. The TSBDE Jurisprudence
Assessment is through the TSBDE website.

Certified Dental Technician Required In accordance with the TSBDE Rule 116.5:
a) All dental laboratories must have a CDT employed by and working on the premises of the dental laboratory a minimum of 30
hours per week.
b) A dental laboratory is exempt from subsection (a) of this section if the laboratory is:
1) Owned by a licensed dentist engaged in the practice of dentistry in this state or by a professional corporation or
partnership in which that dentist is an officer, partner, or employee; and
2) Located on the premises within which the dentist practices dentistry.
c) The exemption under subsection (b) of this section does not apply to a dental laboratory if the laboratory employs three or
more dental technicians.
d) A dental laboratory is exempt from subsection (a) of this section if:
1) The dental laboratory was registered with the TSBDE on September 1, 1987;
2) The dental laboratory's registration has been renewed each year and all registration fees have been paid,;
3) The beneficial ownership of at least 51% interest in the laboratory has not transferred; and
4) The owner and/or the designated employee of the dental laboratory is employed on the premises of the laboratory
for at least 30 hours per week.
e) The owner of the dental laboratory shall maintain employment records validating compliance with this section for a period of
not less than two years.

Penalties If the owner or manager of a dental laboratory fails to renew the registration before the registration date (January 1) the
TSBDE shall suspend the expired registration certificate of the lab. An owner or manager may renew the expired registration within the
first 90 days by paying the required renewal fee ($136) plus a penalty equal to one-half of the initial registration fee ($65.50). If the
registration has been expired for more than 90 days, but less than one year, the required renewal fee plus a penalty equal to the
amount of the initial registration ($65.50) must be submitted. If the registration has been expired for one year or longer, the
registration may not be renewed.

Renewing an Expired Dental Laboratory Registration Certificate A Registered Dental Laboratory renewing a registration certificate
that is expired must pay all past annual renewal fees in order to bring the registration current and into ‘Active’ status. Cancelled
registration certificates cannot be renewed.

Continuing Education Requirement In accordance with TSBDE Rule 116.6:

a) A dental laboratory renewing a certificate must provide proof that the designated CDT has met the continuing education
requirements of a recognized board of certification for dental technology, or its successor.

b) A dental laboratory that meets the exemption qualifications in TSBDE Rule 116.5, in lieu of the requirement of subsection (a)
of this section, proof , that the designated employee has completed at least 12 hours of continuing education during the
preceding 12-month period.Continuing education hours may only be used for one renewal period.

c) Acceptable continuing education shall be comprised of business management, infection control, and technical competency
courses presented in seminars or clinics as accepted by a recognized organization of dentistry or dental technology, subject
to the following requirements:

1) The designated employee must complete at least one course in infection control annually.

2) No more than one course in business management may be applied toward the annual continuing
education requirement.

3) Self-study in a course approved by a recognized organization of dentistry or dental technology
may be taken for not more than four hours of the annual continuing education requirement.

d) In lieu of furnishing proof of continuing education as set forth in TSBDE Rule 116.5, a dental laboratory may furnish proof that
the designated dental technician has a current certification from a recognized board of certification for dental technology or its
successor. Certification as "retired" does not qualify the technician. The lab owner or manager may be asked to provide
copies of any required certification or continuing education documentation required to renew this registration.
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https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/
http://www.tsbde.state.texas.gov/Jurisprudence

