
Criminal History Evaluation Application    October 2020 

 

Instructions: This application should be submitted to determine if your criminal history will allow 

you to be eligible for licensure as a dentist, a dental hygienist, or registration as a dental assistant 
in Texas.  If you can answer “YES” to ANY question asked in the Criminal History section of this 
application: Enclose your non-refundable $25 cashier’s check or money order made payable to the 
Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). Mail this application to the TSBDE at the address 
listed above.  An incomplete application will be returned to the applicant.  Texas law allows the 
agency 90 days to evaluate your materials; however, you will receive a response as quickly as 
possible. 

 
FEE IS 

$25 
 

Check or Money Order 

 

Last Name 
 

First Name Middle  

 

Previous Names 
 

Social Security Number* Date of Birth MM / DD / YYYY Phone Number 

 

Current Address 

 
City State Zip 

Email Address 

 

 

* Pursuant to Sec. 59.001 of the Dental Practice Act, the social security number of an applicant for or holder of a license, or registration, or other legal 

authorization issued by a licensing agency to practice in a specific occupation or profession that is provided to the licensing agency is confidential and 

not subject to disclosure under Chapter 552, Government Code. 

 

I am requesting an evaluation of my criminal history to determine if I will be eligible for a:  () Check One 

 Dental Licensure              Dental Hygiene Licensure              Registered Dental Assistant 

 

 

CRIMINAL HISTORY: “YES” to ANY of the questions listed below REQUIRE you TO provide a signed and dated personal 

letter describing each offense and submit certified copies of all applicable court documents including, but not limited to, 

indictments, orders of deferred adjudication, judgments, probation records, and evidence of completion of probation. 

(Note: You may exclude Class C Misdemeanor traffic violations) If you were ever required to register as a sex 

offender, you must answer “YES”.  

If you answer “NO” to ALL of the questions listed below do NOT complete this application. 

1.  Have you ever had any application for any professional license, registration, certification, or permit 
refused or denied by any licensing authority or government agency? 

 

YES    NO    

2.  Have you ever had a professional license, registration, certification, or permit revoked, suspended, 
or canceled, by any licensing authority or government agency, or voluntarily surrendered? 

 

YES    NO    

3.  Have you ever been the subject of disciplinary action by any licensing authority or government 
agency with regard to any professional license, registration, certification, or permit?  

 

YES    NO    
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4.  For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, have you ever: 
 
A. been convicted of a misdemeanor (other than minor traffic violations)?  
B. been convicted of a felony? 
C. pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty? 
D. received deferred adjudication? 
E. been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated 
guilty? 
F. been sentenced to serve jail or prison time? court-ordered confinement? 
G. been granted pre-trial diversion? 
H. been arrested or have any pending criminal charges? 
I. been cited or charged with any violation of the law? 
J. been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military 
judgement/punishment/action? 
 

If YES, in addition to the affidavit, attach a certified copy of the court records regarding your 

conviction, the nature of the offense, date of discharge, if applicable, as well as a statement from the 
probation or parole officer. Also, provide a copy of an Order of Non-Disclosure or the Court Order 
expunging or sealing (non-disclosure) any conviction, offense, arrest, or citation. 

 

 

 

 

 

YES    

 

 

 

 

NO    

5.  Are you currently addicted to any chemical substance including alcohol (excluding tobacco and 
caffeine)? 

YES    NO    

6.  Are you currently abusing any chemical substance including alcohol (excluding tobacco and 
caffeine)? 

YES    NO    

7.  Have you ever been diagnosed with any condition or impairment (including but not limited to, 
substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, emotional or nervous disorder or condition) that in any 
way affects your ability to practice as a Dentist, Dental Hygienist, or Dental Assistant in a competent, 
ethical, and professional manner? 

 

YES    NO    

 

NOTE: EXPUNGED AND SEALED OFFENSES: While expunged or sealed offenses, arrests, tickets, or citations need not be disclosed, it is your 

responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or sealed. It is recommended that you submit a copy of the 

Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your application. Failure to reveal an offense, arrest, ticket, or citation that 

is not in fact expunged or sealed, will at a minimum, subject your license to a disciplinary fine. Non-disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions 

related to truthfulness and character.  
 

NOTE: ORDERS OF NON-DISCLOSURE: Pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code § 552.142(b), if you have criminal matters that are subject to an order of non-

disclosure you are not required to reveal those criminal matters on this form. However, a criminal matter that is subject of an order of non-disclosure 

may become a character and fitness issue. Pursuant to other sections of the Gov’t Code Chapter 411, the TSBDE is entitled to access criminal history 

record information that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure. If the TSBDE discovers a criminal matter that is the subject of an order of non-

disclosure, even if you properly did not reveal that matter, the TSBDE may require you to provide information about any conduct that raises issues 

of character. APPLICATION TO REQUEST EVALUATION OF CRIMINAL HISTORY Texas State Board of Dental Examiners 333 Guadalupe Street, Tower 3, 

Suite 800 Austin, TX 78701-3942 Phone: (512) 463-6400 Website: www.tsbde.texas.gov  

 

ATTESTATION  

I, the Petitioner referred in this application, acknowledge this document is a legal document and I attest that the 
statements herein contained are true in every respect. I understand that no one else may submit this form on my behalf 
and that I am accountable and responsible for the accuracy of any answer or statement on this form. 

Further, I understand that it is a violation of the Texas Administrative Code and the Penal Code to submit a false statement 
to a government agency; and I consent to release of confidential information to the Texas State Board of Dental 
Examiners (TSBDE) and further authorize the TSBDE to use and to release said information as needed for the evaluation 
and disposition of my application. I understand that if I have any questions regarding this affidavit I should contact an 
attorney or the appropriate professional health provider. I will immediately notify the TSBDE if at any time after signing 
this affidavit I no longer meet the eligibility requirements. 
 
 
Applicant’s Signature ____________________________________________________ Date: _____ / ______ / _____ 

 

http://www.tsbde.texas.gov/
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Checklist – Use the checklist below to ensure you submit a complete application package. Incomplete 
application packages will be returned.  
 

 

_____ Have you provided your Full Name, Address, Phone Number, Social Security Number and Date of Birth? 
_____ Have you indicated whether you are seeking an evaluation for eligibility as a dentist, dental hygienist or 
registered dental assistant? 
_____ Have you prepared and signed a personal letter, addressed to the TSBDE, explaining the details of each 
offense? (Please be advised that if you withhold the details of any criminal history your application for licensure 
or registration will not be approved.) 
_____ Have you submitted certified copies of all applicable court documents including, but not limited to, 
indictments, orders of deferred adjudication, judgments, probation records, and evidence of completion of 
probation? 
_____ Have you enclosed the non-refundable fee of $25 (cashier’s check or money order) made payable to the 

TSBDE? 

 

Once the completed application has been received, staff will email the instructions on scheduling a fingerprint 
session with IdentoGO. Once the applicant has completed their fingerprint session, the applicant will need to 
email a copy of their fingerprint receipt to Licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov and include their full name and date 
of birth. 

Disclosure of Criminal History or Disciplinary Action(s) 
 

 

 The TSBDE has determined that criminal behavior is highly relevant to an individual’s fitness to practice 
dentistry, dental hygiene and dental assisting. Therefore, all arrests, criminal convictions or deferred 
orders, prosecution, or adjudication (a determination by a court that is withheld or delayed for a specific 
time period) must be reported to the TSBDE. 

 This includes offenses under the law of another state, federal law, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice 
that contains elements of criminal conduct. Submit a signed and dated personal letter of explanation 
describing each offense and any rehabilitative efforts that have been performed since the order. In 
addition, submit certified copies of the following documentation for all felonies and for all misdemeanors: 

1. Charges (indictment, information, or complaint); 
2. Disposition of charges (Judgment, Order of Probation, Sentence, and/or Deferred orders); and 
3. Evidence that the conditions of the court have been met. 

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 
 

 

If I do not have a criminal history do I need to complete this application? No. (You may exclude Class C 
Misdemeanor traffic violations) 
What does “Certified” mean? Each page of every document submitted must be stamped with the court seal 
and certified by the court clerk as being a true and original copy of the court record. Copies or non-certified 
documents will not be accepted. 
How do I get my copy of court documents certified? Contact the county clerk where your case was 
adjudicated and ask for instructions on how to obtain a copy of your record(s). Allow time for response to your 
request as some records go through a search and approval procedure before being released. 
My lawyer has all the documents. Can I get them from her/him? Contact your attorney for assistance. Copies 
will still need to be certified by the court clerk as being true and original copies. 
I don’t know the outcome of my criminal matter. Who do I talked to? Consult with your attorney if you have 
questions regarding the outcome of any criminal matter. 
Where can I obtain a copy of my criminal history? A criminal history can be obtained from the Texas 
Department of Public Safety. 
What Law applies to the Consequences of a Criminal Conviction? Texas Occupations Code Chapter 53, 
(Consequences of a Criminal Conviction), Subchapter B (Ineligibility for License). 
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