

Legal Last Name

## **Criminal History Evaluation** (CHE) Application

## **Texas State Board of Dental Examiners**

1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 8.600

Austin, Texas 78701

Phone: (512) 463-6400 | Fax: (512) 649-1658 E-Mail: Licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov

Instructions: This application should be submitted to determine if your criminal history will allow you to be eligible for licensure as a dentist, a dental hygienist, or registration as a dental assistant in Texas. If you can answer "YES" to ANY question asked in the Criminal History section of this application: Enclose your non-refundable \$25 cashier's check or money order made payable to the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). Mail this application to the TSBDE at the address listed above. An incomplete application will be returned to the applicant. Texas law allows the agency 90 days to evaluate your materials; however, you will receive a response as quickly as possible.

Legal First Name

FEE IS

**Check or Money Order** 

Legal Middle Name

Previous Names	-					
	<u>,                                      </u>					
Social Security Number*	Date of Birth MM / DD / YYYYY		Phone Number			
		Cau		T		
Current Address		City	State	Zip		
Email Address						
* Pursuant to Sec. 59.001 of the Dental Practice Act, the social security number of an applicant for or holder of a license, or registration, or other legal authorization issued by a licensing agency to practice in a specific occupation or profession that is provided to the licensing agency is confidential and						
not subject to disclosure under Chapter 552, Govern	nment Code.					
I am requesting an evaluation of my criminal h	nistory to determine	if I will be eligible for a	(√) Check (	One		
□ Dental Licensure	□ Dontal Hygiono	Liconeuro □ Po	gistered Dent	al Accietant		
Dental Licensure	□ Dental Hygiene	Licensure Re	gistered Deni	ai Assisiani		
CRIMINAL HISTORY: "YES" to ANY of the						
letter describing each offense and submit indictments, orders of deferred adjudicat	· ·			•		
(Note: You may exclude Class C Misc				•	•	
offender, you must answer "YES".						
If you answer "NO" to ALL of the question	ns listed below do	NOT complete this a	application.			
Have you ever had any application for any p	rofessional license	, registration, certificatio	n, or permit	YES 🗆	NO 🗆	
refused or denied by any licensing authority or	r government agen	cy?				
Have you ever had a professional license, re	agistration cartifica	tion, or pormit royaled	ougponded	YES 🗆	NO 🗆	
or canceled, by any licensing authority or gove				IES LI	INO LI	
Have you ever been the subject of discipling agency with regard to any professional license.			government	YES 🗆	NO 🗆	
agency managers to any professional morne						

**CHE Application** August 2023

4. For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, have you ever:		
<ul> <li>A. been convicted of a misdemeanor (other than minor traffic violations)?</li> <li>B. been convicted of a felony?</li> <li>C. pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty?</li> <li>D. received deferred adjudication?</li> <li>E. been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated guilty?</li> <li>F. been sentenced to serve jail or prison time? court-ordered confinement?</li> <li>G. been granted pre-trial diversion?</li> <li>H. been arrested or have any pending criminal charges?</li> <li>I. been cited or charged with any violation of the law?</li> <li>J. been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military judgement/punishment/action?</li> </ul>		NO 🗆
If YES, in addition to the affidavit, attach a certified copy of the court records regarding your conviction, the nature of the offense, date of discharge, if applicable, as well as a statement from the probation or parole officer. Also, provide a copy of an Order of Non-Disclosure or the Court Order expunging or sealing (non-disclosure) any conviction, offense, arrest, or citation.	,	
5. Are you currently suffering from any condition for which you are not being appropriately treated that impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice in a competent, ethical, and professional manner?		NO 🗆
Important: The Board recognizes that licensees encounter health conditions, including those involuse disorders, just as their patients and other health care providers do. The Board expects its license and ensure patient safety. Options include seeking independent medical care, self-limiting the licens self-referring to the Professional Recovery Network (PRN). The PRN ( <a href="https://www.txpm.com/">https://www.txpm.com/</a> ) is sup and is a peer assistance program dedicated to helping health care professionals enter a safe, health The failure to adequately address health condition, where the licensee is unable to practice with reast can result in the Board taking action against the license to practice.	e to address the ee's practice, a ported in part le recovery in a control of the total design and the total design	neir health concerns and/or anonymously by your license fees confidential manner.
<b>NOTE: EXPUNGED AND SEALED OFFENSES:</b> While expunged or sealed offenses, arrests, tickets it is your responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or submit a copy of the Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your offense, arrest, ticket, or citation that is not in fact expunged or sealed, will at a minimum, subject you disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions related to truthfulness and character.	sealed. It is red ur application.	commended that you Failure to reveal ar
NOTE: ORDERS OF NON-DISCLOSURE: Pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code § 552.142(b), if you have criorder of non-disclosure you are not required to reveal those criminal matters on this form. However, a order of non-disclosure may become a character and fitness issue. Pursuant to other sections of the G is entitled to access criminal history record information that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure matter that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure, even if you properly did not reveal that mat provide information about any conduct that raises issues of character.	criminal matte ov't Code Cha e. If the TSBDE	r that is subject of ar pter 411, the TSBDE discovers a crimina
ATTESTATION		
I, the Petitioner referred in this application, acknowledge this document is a legal do statements herein contained are true in every respect. I understand that no one else may and that I am accountable and responsible for the accuracy of any answer or statement of	submit this for	
Further, I understand that it is a violation of the Texas Administrative Code and the Penal Coto a government agency; and I consent to release of confidential information to the Examiners (TSBDE) and further authorize the TSBDE to use and to release said informatic and disposition of my application. I understand that if I have any questions regarding th attorney or the appropriate professional health provider. I will immediately notify the TSE this affidavit I no longer meet the eligibility requirements.	Texas State on as needed is affidavit I s	Board of Dental for the evaluation should contact an
Applicant's Signature E	ate:/	/

CHE Application August 2023

Have you provided your Full Name, Address, Phone Number, Social Security Number and Date of Birth?
Have you indicated whether you are seeking an evaluation for eligibility as a dentist, dental hygienist or registered
dental assistant?
Have you prepared and signed a personal letter, addressed to the TSBDE, explaining the details of each offense?
Please be advised that if you withhold the details of any criminal history your application for licensure or registration wil
not be approved.)
Have you submitted certified copies of all applicable court documents including, but not limited to, indictments
orders of deferred adjudication, judgments, probation records, and evidence of completion of probation?
Have you enclosed the non-refundable fee of \$25 (cashier's check or money order) made payable to the TSBDE?

Checklist – Use the checklist below to ensure you submit a complete application package. Incomplete

Once the completed application has been received, staff will email the instructions on scheduling a fingerprint session with IdentoGO. Once the applicant has completed their fingerprint session, the applicant will need to email a copy of their fingerprint receipt to Licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov and include their full name and date of birth.

## **Disclosure of Criminal History or Disciplinary Action(s)**

- > The TSBDE has determined that criminal behavior is highly relevant to an individual's fitness to practice dentistry, dental hygiene and dental assisting. Therefore, all arrests, criminal convictions or deferred orders, prosecution, or adjudication (a determination by a court that is withheld or delayed for a specific time period) must be reported to the TSBDE.
- > This includes offenses under the law of another state, federal law, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice that contains elements of criminal conduct. Submit a signed and dated personal letter of explanation describing each offense and any rehabilitative efforts that have been performed since the order. In addition, submit certified copies of the following documentation for all felonies and for all misdemeanors:
  - 1. Charges (indictment, information, or complaint);
  - 2. Disposition of charges (Judgment, Order of Probation, Sentence, and/or Deferred orders); and
  - 3. Evidence that the conditions of the court have been met.

## Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

application packages will be returned.

If I do not have a criminal history do I need to complete this application? No. (You may exclude Class C Misdemeanor traffic violations)

What does "Certified" mean? Each page of every document submitted must be stamped with the court seal and certified by the court clerk as being a true and original copy of the court record. Copies or non-certified documents will not be accepted.

**How do I get my copy of court documents certified?** Contact the county clerk where your case was adjudicated and ask for instructions on how to obtain a copy of your record(s). Allow time for response to your request as some records go through a search and approval procedure before being released.

My lawyer has all the documents. Can I get them from her/him? Contact your attorney for assistance. Copies will still need to be certified by the court clerk as being true and original copies.

I don't know the outcome of my criminal matter. Who do I talked to? Consult with your attorney if you have questions regarding the outcome of any criminal matter.

Where can I obtain a copy of my criminal history? A criminal history can be obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety.

What Law applies to the Consequences of a Criminal Conviction? Texas Occupations Code Chapter 53, (Consequences of a Criminal Conviction), Subchapter B (Ineligibility for License).

CHE Application August 2023