

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners

1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 8.600 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 463-6400 / Fax: (512) 649-1658 2x2 Passport Photo Required

ATTACH HERE

Dental Licensure Application

Instructions: Print legibly or type all information. All fields are required. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process. Fees are Non-Refundable. Select the application type and submit the appropriate fees (< Check One). Make your check or money order payable to TSBDE and mail to the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners at 1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 8.600 Austin, TX 78701. A 2x2 passport photo is required.

□ Licensure by Examination: \$360 □ Licensure by Credentials: \$2,945 □ Foreign Graduate Licensure: \$360 □ Temporary Licensure: \$895 □ Reinstate a Cancelled License: \$441 □ Military Limited Volunteer**: No Fee □ Military Spouse Authorization**: No Fee								
If applying using military credentials, no fee is required. Make a selection from the above list and below.								
□ Active Duty** □ Veteran** □ Active Duty Spouse** □ Military Service Member**								
** Include a copy of one of the following: Copy of Military Orders, I.D. Card or proof of Honorable or General Discharge								
Social Security #*	Date of Birth							
Legal Last Name Legal	irst Name			Legal Middle Name				
Mailing Address	City		State	Zip				
Daytime Phone Number	Email Address							
Type of Practice Check One (✓) □ Faculty □ Government □ Private □ Resident □ Retired □ Other								
Designated Practice Area Check One (✓) below – Proof of the program completion is required. Graduates from a non-accredited CODA dental school must have completed a program below.								
□ General Dentistry □ Dental Anesthesia □ Dental Public Health □ Endodontics □ Oral and								
Maxillofacial Pathology	gy □ Ora	I Medicine		Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery				
Orthodontics and Orthopedics ☐ Orofacial Pain ☐ Pediatric Dentistry ☐ Periodontics								
□ Prosthodontics □ Dental Anesthesiology								
* Pursuant to Sec. 59.001 of the Dental Practice Act, the social security number of an applicant for or holder of a license, certificate of registration, or other legal authorization issued by a licensing agency to practice in a specific occupation or profession that is provided to the licensing agency is confidential and not subject to disclosure under Chapter 552, Government Code.								
Texas Non-Profit Corporation Employer: Applies only for applicants who are applying for a temporary license.								
Corporation Name								
Address	City		State	Zip				
Supervisor Name		Supervisor Phone #:	1	1				
Employer Medicaid Provider Identification #								

Military Limited Volunteer Applicant									
Name of Clinic				Does the clinic primarily treat indigent patients? □ Yes or □ No					
Address		City		State	Zip Code				
Active Duty Military Spouse Authorization: Applies only for military service member whom the military spouse is married and is stationed at a military installation in Texas.									
Texas Military Installation Base Name									
Address		City		State	Zip Code				
State Licensure/Jurisdictions: List all state(s) and/or jurisdiction in which you have ever held a license. If you hold or have held a license in more than two states, please include the information on another sheet of paper submitted along with the application.									
Yes No Have you ever held a license issued by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE)? If yes, include the type of license and license number: License Type: License Number:									
State: License Numb	er Issue Date		Discip	linary Action:Yes o	r No				
State: License Number Issue Date Disciplinary Action:Yes or No									
Health Insurance									
Are you a Texas Medicaid Provider?	YesNo								
Are you a participating provider in the Texas Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)?YesNo									
Dental Education: All applicants must successfully pass the following exam components: Operative, Endodontics, Periodontics, Prosthodontics, and Comprehensive Treatment Planning. Failure of three or more times requires a board approved remediation to be completed.									
Dental School Attended	Graduation Date								
			Degree Earned						
Post Graduate School Attended			Certification Earned		Completion Date				
NBDE Part I & II or INBDE Completion Date				Jurisprudence Completion Date					
Regional Examining Board	Jurisdiction	Number of Times Taken		Date of Examination	Passed/Failed/Other (if other, please explain)				
Regional Examining Board	Jurisdiction	Number of Times Taken		Date of Examination	Passed/Failed/Other (if other, please explain)				

LICENSE HISTORY: Please answer each of the following questions by putting a check () in the appropriate box on the right. You must answer each question with a "Yes" or "No" response as no other response is acceptable. All "Yes" answers MUST be explained in detail in a separate SIGNED and NOTARIZED affidavit. The affidavit should include all relevant dates and identify the relevant jurisdiction and/or entity involved. Failure to disclose any of the requested information will delay the processing of your application. NOTE: If you answer "Yes" to any of the questions below and you have already submitted a detailed affidavit to this licensing authority explaining your response you need not submit another detailed affidavit. Please note the date of your previous submission next to the applicable question(s). 1. Have you ever had any application for any professional license, registration, certification, or permit refused or YES II NO \square denied by any licensing authority or government agency? Have you ever had a professional license, registration, certification, or permit revoked, suspended, or YES NO 🗆 canceled, by any licensing authority or government agency, or voluntarily surrendered? 3. Have you ever been the subject of disciplinary action by any licensing authority or government agency with YES NO \square regard to any professional license, registration, certification, or permit? If you answer "Yes", you must attach documentation of disciplinary action not previously reported to 4. For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, have you ever: A. been convicted of a misdemeanor (other than minor traffic violations)? B. been convicted of a felony? C. pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty? D. received deferred adjudication? YES NO □ E. been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated guilty? F. been sentenced to serve jail or prison time? court-ordered confinement? G. been granted pre-trial diversion? H. been arrested or have any pending criminal charges? I. been cited or charged with any violation of the law? J. been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military judgement/punishment/action? If YES, in addition to the affidavit, attach a certified copy of the court records regarding your conviction, the nature of the offense, date of discharge, if applicable, as well as a statement from the probation or parole officer. Also, provide a copy of an Order of Non-Disclosure or the Court Order expunging or sealing (non-disclosure) any conviction, offense, arrest, or citation. YES NO 🗆 5. Are you currently addicted to any chemical substance including alcohol (excluding tobacco and caffeine)? 6. Are you currently abusing any chemical substance including alcohol (excluding tobacco and caffeine)? YES NO 🗆 7. Have you ever been diagnosed with any condition or impairment (including but not limited to, substance YES NO \square abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, emotional or nervous disorder or condition) that in any way affects your ability to practice as a Dentist in a competent, ethical, and professional manner? **ATTESTATION** In addition to the foregoing: I acknowledge this is a legal document and I attest that I understand and meet all the requirements to practice for the type of licensure requested. Further, I understand that it is a violation of the Texas Administrative Code and the Penal Code to submit a false statement to a government agency and I consent to the release of confidential information to the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners and further authorize the Board to use and to release said information as needed for the evaluation and disposition of my application for licensure. Additionally, I attest I will not practice as a Dentist in the state of Texas until I have been issued a Texas license. Applicant's Signature Date COUNTY OF Before me, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared the applicant whose signature appears above and who being by me sworn upon oath says that all the facts, statements and answers contained in this application are true and correct. Sworn and subscribed to before me, the said _ appeared on this the __ day of __, 20 _____, to certify which witness my hand and seal of office. Notary Signature

Dental Licensure Application Page 3 of 6 July 2022

(Seal)

All documentation is required to be submitted at the time you are mailing in your application package. *Incomplete applications will be returned to the address listed on the application*. If you are sending mail separately, you will need to include this information on another sheet of paper when submitting your application package via mail. Name changes or updates should be noted on the application and supported by submitting a copy of the legal document, which supports the name change. It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure are the required documents have been included in the application package.

Licensure by Examination Requirements Checklist

- Submit a fully completed application. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process.
- 1- 2x2 passport photo.
- Copy of driver's license, naturalization papers, or passport.
- · Copy of current Basic Life Support CPR certification. Must have completed a hands-on demonstration of skills.
- Official transcript showing proof of graduation from school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation- accredited (CODA) dental school.
- Proof of successful completion of National Boards Parts I and II or the INDBE. TSBDE now has access to electronic results, which have been made available to Texas. Contact ADA's department of testing services to ensure Texas will have access to your results.
- Proof of completion of a general dentistry clinical examination administered by a regional clinical examining board dated within 5 years from the
 date of examination. TSBDE will electronically validate score reports that have been made available to Texas from WREB, CDCA, and CRDTS.
- Proof of completion of the Jurisprudence for dentists without sedation taken within one year immediately prior to application.
- National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. NPDB reports are valid for 60 days. Contact NPDB at (800) 767-6732, or at http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.isp.
- Proof of the Health and Human Services (HHS) approved Human Trafficking Course completion certificate.
- Military Active Duty, Veterans or Military Active Duty Spouses must provide either a copy of Military Change of Station Orders, Identification Card
 or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge.
- For applicants who have held a license in another state/jurisdiction: A verification of licensure with imprint of state seal issued from a state board of dentistry in which the applicant has ever held a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene. A copy of the license alone is not acceptable. The verification of licensure must be received in its own original sealed unopened envelope.

Foreign Trained Graduate Checklist

Along with all of the above, **graduates of a non-accredited CODA dental program must** also include the official transcript of the completion of an ADA CODA-accredited two-year specialty residency. **Recognized Specialties:** Endodontics, Periodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, Pediatric Dentistry, Dental Public Health, Prosthodontics, Oral Medicine, Dental Anesthesiology, or Orofacial Pain

Reinstate a Canceled License Checklist: If you are currently licensed and have been in practice in another state for the two years preceding the date of application, you may obtain a new license without reexamination.

- Submit a fully completed application. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process.
- A 2x2 passport photo.
- Copy of driver's license, naturalization papers, or passport.
- · Copy of current Basic Life Support CPR certification. Must have completed a hands-on demonstration of skills.
- Official transcript showing proof of graduation from school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation- accredited (CODA) dental school.
- Proof of successful completion of National Boards Parts I and II or the INDBE. TSBDE now has access to electronic results, which have been
 made available to Texas. Contact ADA's department of testing services to ensure Texas will have access to your results.

Dental Licensure Application Page 4 of 6 July 2022

- Proof of completion of a general dentistry clinical examination administered by a regional clinical examining board. TSBDE will electronically
 validate score reports that have been made available to Texas from WREB, CDCA, and CRDTS.
- Proof of completion of the Jurisprudence Assessment for dentists without sedation taken within one year immediately prior to application.
- National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. NPDB reports are valid for 60 days. Contact NPDB at (800) 767-6732, or at http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.jsp.
- Proof of the Health and Human Services (HHS) approved Human Trafficking Course completion certificate.
- Certificates of completion of 12 hours of continuing education taken within the preceding 12 months. All hours should be taken in accordance with the requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104.
- Military Active Duty, Veterans or Military Active Duty Spouses must provide either a copy of Military Change of Station Orders, Identification Card or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge.
- For applicants who have held a license in another state/jurisdiction: A verification of licensure with imprint of state seal issued from a state board of dentistry in which the applicant has ever held a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene. A copy of the license alone is not acceptable. The verification of licensure must be received in its own sealed unopened envelope.

Please note: If you have been in active practice within the last two years preceding the application submission date, you will be required to submit proof of practice.

Licensure by Credentials Checklist: - Applicants seeking to apply by Credentials must have practiced dentistry or dental hygiene for a minimum of three (3) of the five (5) years immediately preceding application or as a dental educator for the five (5) years preceding application to Texas.

- Submit a fully completed application. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process.
- A 2x2 passport photo.
- Copy of driver's license, naturalization papers, or passport.
- Copy of current Basic Life Support CPR certification. Must have completed a hands-on demonstration of skills.
- Official transcript showing proof of graduation from school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation- accredited (CODA) dental school.
- Proof of successful completion of National Boards Parts I and II or the INDBE. TSBDE now has access to electronic results, which have been
 made available to Texas. Contact ADA's department of testing services to ensure Texas will have access to your results.
- Proof of completion of a general dentistry clinical examination administered by another state or regional examining board. TSBDE will electronically
 validate score reports that have been made available to Texas from WREB, CDCA, and CRDTS.
- Certificates of completion of 12 hours of continuing education taken within the preceding 12 months. All hours should be taken in accordance with the requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104.
- Proof of completion of the Jurisprudence Assessment for dentists without sedation taken within one year immediately prior to application.
- Proof of clinical practice is required. Submit a completed clinical practice affidavit form in its own sealed unopened envelope. This form cannot be completed by the applicant.
- A verification of licensure which includes all disciplinary action, if any, with imprint of state seal issued from a state board of dentistry from each
 state, US territory, or international jurisdiction in which the applicant has ever held a license to practice dentistry. A copy of the license alone is not
 acceptable. The verification of licensure must be received in its own original sealed envelope.
- American Association of Dental Board (AADB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. Contact AADB at (312) 440-7464, or at www.dentalboards.org
- National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. NPDB reports are valid for 60 days. Contact NPDB at (800) 767-6732, or at http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.jsp
- Proof of the Health and Human Services (HHS) approved Human Trafficking Course completion certificate.
- Military Active Duty, Veterans or Military Active Duty Spouses must provide either a copy of Military Change of Station Orders, Identification Card or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge.

Dental Licensure Application Page 5 of 6 July 2022

Temporary Licensure by Credentials

Must meet all requirements of licensure by credentials with the exception, that a license granted under this section is valid only for practice as an employee of the non-profit corporation named on this application.

Military Limited Volunteer License

Texas Administrative Code Rule § 101.13 states in pertinent part; (a) A dentist with a Military Limited Volunteer License may only practice at a clinic that primarily treats indigent patients and may not receive direct or indirect compensation for services rendered at the clinic.

- (b) A person is eligible for a Military Limited Volunteer License if they:
 - (1) Are licensed in good standing or are retired in good standing in another state.
 - (2) Are or were authorized to treat personnel enlisted in a branch of the United States armed forces or veterans.
- (c) A person is ineligible for a Military Limited Volunteer License if they:
 - (1) Hold a dentist or dental hygienist license in another state that is current under active investigation or has been subject to a disciplinary order or action;
 - (2) Hold a license to prescribe, dispense, administer, supply, or sell a controlled substance that is currently under active investigation or has been subject to a disciplinary order or action;
 - (3) Have been convicted of, is on deferred adjudication community supervision, or deferred disposition for, or is under active investigation for the commission of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.
- (d) Except for the limitations described in subsection (a) of this section, a Military Limited Volunteer License holder has the same privileges and responsibilities of any other licensee and is similarly subject to board rules, including rules regarding standard of care, record keeping, disciplinary actions, license registration and renewal, and continuing education, except that there will not be any fees associated with the issuance or renewal of the license.

Active Duty Military Spouse Authorization – In accordance with §55.0041(a), Texas Occupations Code; This authorization is exempt from licensure and is limited to the duration of the military spouse that is, stationed at a military installation in Texas. As stated in Rule 103.10, this authorization is not to exceed three years.

Submit the completed dental application, proof of residency in Texas, along with verification of licensure from each state, territory, Canadian province, or country.

Upon receipt of the completed application an email will be sent, notifying the applicant of further information required in order to schedule a fingerprint session.

Once the application has been reviewed, an authorization to practice letter will be issued. This authorization is not renewable nor will it be extended.

Fingerprint Session is required for all methods of licensure

Once the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners is in receipt of your application, you will be notified via email of the agency's service code. This code is required in order for you to schedule a fingerprint session with IdentoGo.

2-Step Application and Payment process

Once TSBDE has approved your application, a license number will be issued. The status of your license will be expired with a future date. You will receive a letter of approval with instructions for activating your Initial renewal. The approval letter will authorize you to practice for 30 days. Once your initial renewal has been paid, you should receive your new license within 7-10 business days via mail.

Exception: Active duty military, veterans and active duty military spouses are not required to pay to activate their license. The license will be issued and mailed to the applicant after the application has been approved. Your first license may be valid anywhere between 18 months to 30 months. You will receive a reminder post card approximately 45 days prior to your license expiration date.

Anesthesia/Sedation Permits

If interested in applying for an anesthesia/sedation permit, there is a separate application process. You may only apply after your Dental licensure application has been approved and your license has been activated. The information can be found at https://tsbde.texas.gov/licensing/dentists/.

Dental Licensure Application Page 6 of 6 July 2022