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Texas State Board of Dental Examiners 
333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800 

Austin, Texas 78701-3942 
(512) 463-6400 / Fax:  (512) 649-1658 

Licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov 

 

Instructions: A licensee may request to place their license on a Retired Status up to 60 days prior to the license 
expiring. A request for retirement is subject to the license being in a current and in good standing. Prescription writing 
privileges with the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) may not be maintained during a retired status. Anesthesia permits 
issued to dentists will be removed from the license. Nitrous Oxide Monitoring endorsements for hygienists will be 
removed from the license. A licensee on retired status may not perform any activity regulated under Occupations Code. 
The license will be placed on retirement as of the date the request is dated stamped as received. Once staff have 

processed the retirement request, a letter will be sent via mail confirming the retirement status.   Please note: If you 

attempt to place your license on retirement after your license has expired, you will be required to pay past due 

fees and/or provide proof of compliance documents. There is no fee to place your license on retired status if 

your license is in an active status. 
 

Check () one: 
□ DDS  or  □ RDH  

License Number: Social  

Security #*: 

Date of Birth: 
 MM / DD / YYYY 

 

Last Name: 
 

 

 First Name Middle  

Current  
Address: 
 

 City: State: Zip 

Daytime  
Phone #: 
 

 Email Address: 
 

Jurisprudence Completion Date: 
 
  

BLS CPR Issue Date:  BLS CPR Expiration Date: 

* Pursuant to Sec. 59.001 of the Dental Practice Act, the social security number of an applicant for or holder of a license, certificate of registration, or other legal 

authorization issued by a licensing agency to practice in a specific occupation or profession that is provided to the licensing agency is confidential and not subject 

to disclosure under Chapter 552, Government Code.  

 

DENTISTS ONLY: Refer to Rule §108.8 Records of the Dentist, for complete details on the retention of patient records 
and/or the transfer of patient records. Dentists are required to report to the TSBDE the disposition of patient records 
within 15 days of a transfer. Please check (√) and complete one below; You may attach another sheet, if needed.  
 

Transfer of Records Agreement: 22 TAC §108.8(e)(2); This agreement may be made at any time in an 
employment or other working relationship between a dentist and another entity eligible to accept dental 
records. Such transfer of records may apply to all or any part of the dental records generated in the 
course of the relationship. Please provide the full name(s) of the dentist(s) involved in the agreement, 
include the locations involved in the agreement, and specifically identify what records are involved. 
 

Dental License Number 
of Transferee 

Full Name Location(s) Record(s) Type 

 
 

   

 

 
 
 
 
□ Yes  or  □ No 

Records Management Agreement: 22 TAC §108.8(e)(3); A maintenance agreement shall not transfer 
ownership of the dental records, but shall require that the dental records be maintained in accordance 
with the laws and rules of the TSBDE. Provide full names of the dentists, locations, and what records 
are involved in the agreement. 
 

Dental License Number of 
Manager 

Full Name Location(s) Record(s) Type 

 
 

   

 

 
 
 
□ Yes  or  □ No 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Retirement Request Form 
(DDS and RDH Only) 
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Custodian of Records: 22 TAC § The designated custodian of records shall act as temporary or 
permanent custodian for the dentists in the event of the dentist’s death, incapacity or abandonment of 
the records.  

a. My designated custodian of records is a Texas licensed dentist; 
i. Provide the following; 

Dental License Number  Full Name Location(s) 

 
 

  

 

b. My designated custodian of records is NOT a Texas licensed dentist; 
i. Provide the following;  

Full Name Location(s) Phone/Email 

 
 

  

  

 
 
 
 
 
□ Yes  or  □ No 

 

 
 

Attestation 
 

I am no longer practicing in Texas and request that the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE) 
place my license in retired status. I understand that upon a request for reactivation I must comply with all 
applicable laws and rules at that time, and must obtain TSBDE approval.  
 

 

____________________________________     _______________________ 

    Signature         Date 

 


