Texas State Board of Dental Examiners 2x2 Passport Photo
1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 8.600 Required
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 463-6400 / Fax: (512) 649-1658

ATTACH HERE

Dental Hygiene Licensure Application

Instructions: Print legibly or type all information. All fields are required. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your
application process. Fees are Non-Refundable. Select the application type and submit the appropriate fees (v Check One). Make
your check or money order payable to TSBDE and mail to the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners at 1801 Congress Avenue,
Suite 8.600, Austin, TX 78701. A 2x2 passport sized photo is required. Questions may be emailed to licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov.

[l Licensure by Examination: $125 [ Reinstate a Cancelled License: $220 [1 Temporary Licensure: $232
[1 Licensure by Credentials: $642 o Military Limited Volunteer ** No Fee o Military Spouse Authorization** No Fee
If applying using military credentials, no fee is required. Make a selection from the above list and below.

(1 Active Duty** [ Veteran** Active Duty Spouse** o Military Service Member**

** Include a copy of one of the following: Copy of Military Orders, 1.D. Card or proof of Honorable or General Discharge

Social Security #* Date of Birth:
MM /DD / YYYY

Legal Last Name Legal First Name Legal Middle Name

The address provided will become a public record and must be disclosed, if it is requested through an open records request.

Mailing Address City State Zip
Is the mailing address your home address? (\ check one) o Yes o No
Daytime Phone Number Email Address

* pursuant to Sec. 59.001 of the Dental Practice Act, the social security number of an applicant for or holder of a license, certificate of registration, or other legal
authorization issued by a licensing agency to practice in a specific occupation or profession that is provided to the licensing agency is confidential and not subject

to disclosure under Chapter 552, Government Code.

Texas Non-Profit Corporation Employer: Applies only for applicants who are applying for a temporary license.

Corporation Name

Address City State Zip

Supervisor Name Supervisor Phone Number

Employer Medicaid Provider Identification #

Military Limited Volunteer Applicant

Name of Clinic Does the clinic primarily treat indigent patients?
oYes or oNo

Address City State Zip Code
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Active Duty Military Spouse Authorization: Applies only for military service member whom the military spouse is married is stationed at a
military installation in Texas.

Texas Military Installation Base
Name

Address City State Zip Code

State Licensure/Jurisdictions: List all state(s) and/or jurisdiction in which you are or have ever been licensed. If you hold or have held a
license in more than two states, please include the information on another sheet of paper submitted along with the application. You MUST
self-report your previously issued dental assistant registration even if it was issued by TSBDE. Failure to do so will result in processing
delays.

Yes No Have you ever held a license/registration issued by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE)?
If yes, include the type of license and license number:
License Type: License Number:
State: License Number Issue Date Disciplinary Action: Yes or No
State: License Number Issue Date Disciplinary Action: Yes or No

Dental Education: If applying by examination, failure of three or more times requires a board approved remediation to be completed.
Remediation must be approved prior to beginning the program. Clinical exam results must be dated within the seven (7) years of when the
examination was successfully passed.

Dental Hygiene School Attended Degree Earned Graduation Date

NBDHE Completion Date Jurisprudence Completion Date

Regional Clinical Exam Jurisdiction Number of Times Taken | Date of Examination Passed/Failed/Other (if other,
Name please explain)

Regional Clinical Exam Jurisdiction Number of Times Taken | Date of Examination Passed/Failed/Other (if other,
Name please explain)

LICENSE HISTORY: Please answer each of the following questions by putting a check (v) in the appropriate box on the right. You must answer each
question with a “Yes” or “No” response as no other response is acceptable. All “Yes” answers MUST be explained in detail in a separate SIGNED
and NOTARIZED affidavit. The affidavit should include all relevant dates and identify the relevant jurisdiction and/or entity involved. Failure to disclose
any of the requested information may result in the denial of your application or other appropriate action.

NOTE: If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions below and you have already submitted a detailed affidavit to this licensing authority explaining your
response you need not submit another detailed affidavit. Please note the date of your previous submission next to the applicable question(s).

1. Have you ever had an application for a hygiene or any professional license, registration, certification,

or permit refused or denied by any licensing authority or government agency? YES O NO O

2. Have you ever had a hygiene or professional license, registration, certification, or permit revoked, | YES O NO O
suspended, or canceled by any license authority or government agency, or voluntarily surrendered?

If you have previously been issued a dental assistant registration and it has cancelled, you must
answer “Yes”, and attach a notarized affidavit with an explanation.

3. Have you ever been the subject of disciplinary action by any licensing authority or government | YES O NO 0O
agency with regard to a hygiene or any professional license, registration, certification, or permit?

If you answer “Yes” you must attach documentation of disciplinary action not previously
reported to TSBDE.
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4. For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, have you ever: YES O NO O
A. been convicted of a misdemeanor (other than minor traffic violations)?
B. been convicted of a felony?
C. pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty?
D. received deferred adjudication?
E. been placed on community supervision or court-ordered confinement?
F. been sentenced to serve jail or prison time? court-ordered confinement?
G. been granted pre-trial diversion?
H. been arrested or have any pending criminal charges?
I. been cited or charged with any violation of the law?
J. been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military
judgement/punishment/action?

If YES, in addition to the affidavit, attach a certified copy of the court records regarding your conviction,
the nature of the offense, date of discharge, if applicable. As well as a statement from the probation or
parole officer. Also, provide a copy of an Order of Non-Disclosure or the Court Order expunging or
sealing (non-disclosure) any conviction, offense, arrest, or citation.

5. Are you currently suffering from any condition for which you are not being appropriately treated that

; : ) h - Lo YES O NO O
impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice in a competent,
ethical, and professional manner?

Important: The Board recognizes that licensees encounter health conditions, including those involving mental health and substance use disorders, just
as their patients and other health care providers do. The Board expects its licensees to address their health concerns and ensure patient safety.
Options include seeking independent medical care, self-limiting the licensee’s practice, and/or anonymously self-referring to the Professional Recovery
Network (PRN). The PRN ( http://www.txprn.com/) is supported in part by your license fees and is a peer assistance program dedicated to helping
health care professionals enter a safe, healthy recovery in a confidential manner. The failure to adequately address a health condition, where the
licensee is unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety to patients, can result in the Board taking action against the license to practice.

ATTESTATION

In addition to the foregoing: | acknowledge this is a legal document and | attest that | understand and meet all the requirements to practice for the type
of licensure requested. Further, | understand that it is a violation of the Texas Administrative Code and the Penal Code to submit a false statement to a
government agency and | consent to the release of confidential information to the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners and further authorize the
Board to use and to release said information as needed for the evaluation and disposition of my application for licensure. Additionally, | attest that | will
not practice as a Hygienist in the state of Texas until | have been issued a Texas license.

Applicant’s Signature Date

STATE OF COUNTY OF

Before me, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared the applicant whose signature appears above and who being by me sworn upon

oath says that all the facts, statements and answers contained in this application are true and correct.

Sworn and subscribed to before me, the said appeared on this the day of
, 20 , to certify which witness my hand and seal of office.

Notary Signature

(Seal)

Dental Hygiene Licensure Application Page 3 of 6 August 2023



http://www.txprn.com/

All documentation is required to be submitted at the time you are mailing in your application package. Incomplete
applications will be returned to the address listed on the application. If you are sending mail separately, you will need
to include this information on another sheet of paper when submitting your application package via mail. Name changes or
updates should be noted on the application and supported by submitting a copy of the legal document, which supports the
name change. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure are the required documents have been included in the
application package.

Licensure by Examination Requirements Checklist

e  Submit a fully completed application. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process.
e  1- 2x2 passport sized photo.

e  Copy of driver’s license, naturalization papers, or passport.

e  Copy of current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification. Must have completed a hands-on demonstration of skills.

e  Official transcript showing proof of graduation from school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation- accredited (CODA) dental
hygiene school. Transcripts must remain in the original sealed envelope

e Successful completion of Dental Hygiene National Boards. TSBDE will electronically verify scores that have been made available. Contact ADA’s
department of testing services to ensure Texas will have access to your results.

e  Successful completion of a dental hygiene clinical examination administered by a regional clinical examining board approved by the board and
dated within seven (7) years from the date of examination. Both written and clinical assessments are required. TSBDE will verify electronic scores
via CDCA-WREB-CITA, and CRDTS portals.

e Proof of completion of the Jurisprudence taken within one year immediately prior to application.
e Submit fingerprint submission for the retrieval of criminal history record information — This information will be emailed to the applicant once a

completed application has been received. Once you have completed the fingerprint session, applicants will be required to email a copy of their
receipt from IdentoGO to licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov.

. National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. NPDB reports are valid for
60 days. Contact NPDB at (800) 767-6732, or at http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.jsp.

e Proof of the Health and Human Services (HHS) approved Human Trafficking Course completion certificate. . For information on where to find
approved courses please visit the following site; https://www.hhs.texas.gov/services/safety/texas-human-trafficking-resource-center/health-care-
practitioner-human-trafficking-training.

e  Military Active Duty, Veterans or Military Active Duty Spouses must provide either a copy of Military Change of Station Orders, Identification Card
or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge.

. For applicants who have held a license in another state/jurisdiction: A verification of licensure with imprint of state seal issued from a state board of
dentistry in which the applicant has ever held a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene is required. A copy of the license alone is not
acceptable. The verification of licensure must be received in its own sealed unopened envelope.

Reinstate a Canceled License Checklist: If you are currently licensed and have been in practice in another state for the two years preceding
the date of application, you may obtain a new license without reexamination.

e  Submit a fully completed application. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process.
e  1- 2x2 passport sized photo.

e  Copy of driver’s license, naturalization papers, or passport.

e  Copy of current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification. Must have completed a hands-on demonstration of skills.

e  Official transcript showing proof of graduation from a school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation- accredited (CODA) dental
hygiene school. Transcripts must remain in the original sealed envelope

. Proof of Successful completion of the Dental Hygiene National Board. TSBDE will electronically verify scores that have been made available.
Contact ADA’s department of testing services to ensure Texas will have access to your results.

. Proof of completion of a dental hygiene clinical examination administered by a board approved regional clinical examining board.
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. Proof of completion of the Jurisprudence taken within one year immediately prior to application.
. Proof of clinical practice is required. Submit a completed clinical practice affidavit form. This form cannot be completed by the applicant.
e Submit fingerprint submission for the retrieval of criminal history record information — This information will be emailed to the applicant once a

completed application has been received. Once you have completed the fingerprint session, applicants will be required to email a copy of their
receipt from ldentoGO to licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov.

. National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. NPDB reports are valid for
60 days. Contact NPDB at (800) 767-6732, or at http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.jsp.

. Proof of the Health and Human Services (HHS) approved Human Trafficking Course completion certificate. . For information on where to find
approved courses please visit the following site; https://www.hhs.texas.gov/services/safety/texas-human-trafficking-resource-center/health-care-
practitioner-human-trafficking-training.

e  Certificates of completion of 12 hours of continuing education taken within the preceding 12 months. All hours should be taken in accordance with
the requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104.

e  Military Active Duty, Veterans or Military Active Duty Spouses must provide either a copy of Military Change of Station Orders, Identification Card
or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge.

e  For applicants who have held a license in another state/jurisdiction: A verification of licensure which includes all disciplinary action, if any, from
each state board of dentistry or jurisdiction board in which the applicant has ever held a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene. A copy of
the license alone is not acceptable. The verification of licensure must be received in its own sealed unopened envelope.

Licensure by Credentials Checklist- Applicants seeking to apply by Credentials must have practiced dentistry or dental hygiene for a minimum of
three (3) of the five (5) years immediately preceding application or as a dental educator for the five (5) years preceding application to Texas.

e  Submit a fully completed application. Submitting an incomplete application will delay your application process.
e  1- 2x2 passport sized photo.

e  Copy of driver’s license, naturalization papers, or passport.

e  Copy of current Basic Life Support CPR certification. Must have completed a hands-on demonstration of skills.

e  Official transcript showing proof of graduation from a school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation- accredited (CODA) dental
hygiene school. Transcripts must remain in the original sealed envelope.

e Proof of Successful completion of Dental Hygiene National Boards. TSBDE staff will electronically validate scores that have been made available
to Texas. Contact ADA’s department of testing services to ensure Texas will have access to your results.

e  Proof of completion of a dental hygiene clinical examination administered by another state or regional examining board. TSBDE will verify
electronic scores via CDCA-WREB-CITA, and CRDTS portals.

e  Certificates of completion of 12 hours of continuing education taken within the preceding 12 months. All hours should be taken in accordance with
the requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104.

. Proof of completion of the Jurisprudence Assessment taken within one year immediately prior to application
. Proof of clinical practice is required. Submit a completed clinical practice affidavit form. This form cannot be completed by the applicant.
e Submit fingerprint submission for the retrieval of criminal history record information — This information will be emailed to the applicant once a

completed application has been received. Once you have completed the fingerprint session, applicants will be required to email a copy of their
receipt from IdentoGO to licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov.

. National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report. Report results must remain in the original sealed envelope. NPDB reports are valid for
60 days. Contact NPDB at (800) 767-6732, or at http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.jsp

. Proof of the Health and Human Services (HHS) approved Human Trafficking Course completion certificate. . For information on where to find
approved courses please visit the following site; https://www.hhs.texas.gov/services/safety/texas-human-trafficking-resource-center/health-care-
practitioner-human-trafficking-training.

e American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) self-query report. Report results must remain the original sealed envelope. Contact AADB at (312)
440-7464, or at www.dentalboards.org.
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e  Military Active Duty, Veterans or Military Active Duty Spouses must provide either a copy of Military Change of Station Orders, Identification Card
or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge.

e  For applicants who have held a license in another state/jurisdiction: A verification of licensure with imprint of state seal issued from a state board of
dentistry in which the applicant has ever held a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene is required. A copy of the license alone is not
acceptable. The verification of licensure must be received in its own sealed unopened envelope.

Temporary Licensure by Credentials

Must meet all requirements of licensure by credentials with the exception that a license granted under this section is valid only for practice as an
employee of the non-profit corporation named on this application.

Military Limited Volunteer License

Texas Administrative Code Rule § 103.9 states in pertinent part; A dental hygienist with a Military Limited Volunteer License may only practice at a
clinic that primarily treats indigent patients and may not receive direct or indirect compensation for services rendered at the clinic.
(b) A person is eligible for a Military Limited Volunteer License if they:
(1) Are licensed in good standing or are retired in good standing in another state.
(2) Are or were authorized to treat personnel enlisted in a branch of the United States armed forces or veterans.
(c) A person is ineligible for a Military Limited Volunteer License if they:
(1) Hold a dentist or dental hygienist license in another state that is current under active investigation or has been subject to a
disciplinary order or action;
(2) Hold a license to prescribe, dispense, administer, supply, or sell a controlled substance that is currently under active
investigation or has been subject to a disciplinary order or action; or
(3) Have been convicted of, is on deferred adjudication community supervision, or deferred disposition for, or is under active
investigation for the commission of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.
(d) Except for the limitations described in subsection (a) of this section, a Military Limited Volunteer License holder has the same privileges
and responsibilities of any other licensee and is similarly subject to board rules, including rules regarding standard of care, record keeping,
disciplinary actions, license registration and renewal, and continuing education, except that there will not be any fees associated with the
issuance or renewal of the license.

Active Duty Military Spouse Authorization — In accordance with 855.0041(a), Texas Occupations Code; This authorization is exempt from
licensure and is limited to the duration of the military spouse that is, stationed at a military installation in Texas. As stated in Rule 103.10, this
authorization is not to exceed three years.

Submit the completed dental hygiene application, proof of residency in Texas, along with verification of licensure from each state, territory, Canadian
province, or country.

Upon receipt of the completed application an email will be sent, notifying the applicant of further information required in order to schedule a fingerprint
session.

Once the application has been reviewed, an authorization to practice letter will be issued. This authorization is not renewable nor will it be extended.

Fingerprint Session

Once the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners is in receipt of your application, you will be notified via email of the agency’s service code. This code
is required in order for you to schedule a fingerprint session with IdentoGo.

2-Step Application and Payment process

Once TSBDE has approved your licensure application, a license number will be issued. The status of your license will be expired with a future date. You
will receive a letter of approval with instructions for activating your Initial renewal. The approval letter will authorize you to practice for 30 days. Once
your initial renewal has been paid, you should receive your new license within 7-10 business days via mail.

Exception: Active duty military, veterans, military service members (reserves) and active duty military spouses are not required to pay to activate their
license. The license will be issued and mailed to the applicant after the application has been approved. Your first license may be valid anywhere
between 18 months to 30 months. You will receive a reminder post card approximately 45 days prior to your license expiration date.

Nitrous Oxide Monitoring

Nitrous Oxide Monitoring endorsement is a separate application process. You may only apply after you hold an active Texas dental hygiene license.
The application may be found at http://www.tsbde.texas.gov/NitrousOxideMonitoringCertificateRDH.html.
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