Renewal CE Requirements
All Texas licensees holding an active license to practice in Texas must biennially collect a minimum of twenty four (24) hours of appropriate continuing education, as required by the Occupations Code at Section 257.005, and the TSBDE Rules and Regulations at Chapter 104 after your first biennial renewal and before each subsequent renewal.
Please be advised that your in-classroom setting CE hours can be completed as Live Interactive Webinars (you can ask and answer questions) through one of our board approved providers.
The following conditions and restrictions shall apply (As per TSBDE Rule 104.1):
- At least 16 hours of coursework must be either technical or scientific as related to clinical care. The terms “technical” and “scientific” as applied to continuing education shall mean that courses have significant intellectual or practical content and are designed to directly enhance the practitioner’s knowledge and skill in providing clinical care to the individual patient.
- Up to 8 hours of coursework may be in risk-management courses. Acceptable “risk management” courses include courses in risk management, record-keeping, HIPAA, and ethics.
- Up to 8 hours of coursework may be self-study. These self-study hours must be provided by those entities cited in TSBDE Rule 104.2 of this title (relating to Providers). Examples of self-study courses include correspondence courses, video courses, audio courses, and reading courses. Hours of coursework in the standards of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) or in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) may not be considered in the 24-hour requirement.
- Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) and Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) training may be used towards continuing education hours.
- Hours of coursework in practice finance may not be considered in the 24-hour requirement.
- Each licensee shall complete the jurisprudence assessment every four (4) years. Completion of the TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment may not be considered in the 24-hour requirement.
- As part of the 24-hour requirement, a course in human trafficking prevention approved by the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission must be completed. Click here for a list of approved courses.
Have questions regarding the continuing education requirements? Please see the chart below.
CE Carried Forward or Banked CE
Extra hours, not to exceed 24 hours, earned in a classroom or lecture format taken within the one year immediately preceding the renewal period may be carried forward.
Attesting to Completing CE and Sending Proof of Completion of CE
All licensees are asked to sign an attestation at the time of license renewal that indicates the minimum continuing education hours have been obtained. Licensees should not send proof of continuing education hours unless specifically asked to do so. Approximately 5% of license renewals each month are selected for random audit.
Licensees not complying with CE requirements will not be eligible for license renewal until appropriate hours are obtained.
|Dentists w/o sedation permits||Dentists w/sedation permits|
|Renewal Timeframe||2 years||2 years|
|How many CE hours are required?||24||See Sedation Levels|
|Type: Scientific/Technical (hands on)||At least 16||At least 16|
|Type: Risk-Management (recordkeeping, ethics)||Up to 8 hours||Up to 8 hours|
|Self-Study (video, audio, and reading courses)||Up to 8 hours||Up to 8 hours|
|Type: Controlled Substance||See “Controlled Substances” Below||See “Controlled Substances” Below|
|BLS CPR (hands on)||Yes||Yes|
|ACLS/PALS||No||Level 2-4 permit only|
|PALS Only||No||Levels 2-4 who provide anesthesia services to children 12 or younger|
|Jurisprudence Assessment||Yes, every 4 years||No|
|Anesthesia Jurisprudence Examination||No||Yes. Once every five (5) years|
|PMP||See “Controlled Substances” Below||See “Controlled Substances” Below|
The CE requirements are in addition to any additional course required for licensure. ACLS and PALS courses may not be used to fulfill the CE renewal requirement.
Level 1: Minimal Sedation
Six (6) hours on the administration of or medical emergencies associated with the permitted level of sedation.
Level 2 & 3: Moderate Sedation
Eight (8) hours on the administration of or medical emergencies associated with the permitted level of sedation.
Level 4: Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia
Twelve (12) hours on the administration of or medical emergencies associated with the permitted level of sedation.
Each Dentist who is permitted by DEA to prescribe controlled substances shall conduct at least one self-query through the PMP of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy. https://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/PMP/
Effective March 1, 2020, prior to prescribing or dispensing opioids, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, or carisoprodol, a dentist shall access the patient’s prescription drug history report through the Texas State Board of Pharmacy’s Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP). https://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/PMP/
Beginning September 1, 2020, each dentist who is permitted by DEA to prescribe controlled substances must complete two (2) CE hours related to approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances;
- For dentists authorized to prescribe controlled substances before 09/01/2020, the two (2) hours must be completed by 09/01/2021
- For dentists who are authorized to prescribe controlled substances on or after 09/01/2020, the two (2) CE hours must be completed by the first anniversary of obtaining the DEA permit.
Once a DEA permit holder has taken the two (2) hour course, they are not required to take the course again. The two (2) hours may be taken to satisfy the recordkeeping CE requirement.
Effective January 1, 2021, a licensed dentist whose practice includes direct patient care must complete at least four (4) CE hours for each biennial renewal, regarding safe and effective pain management related to the prescription of opioids and other controlled substances. The courses taken to satisfy the safe and effective pain management requirement must include education regarding the following:
- Reasonable standards of care
- The identification of drug-seeking behavior in patients, and
- Effectively communicating with patients regarding the prescription of an opioid or other controlled substance
These four (4) hours may be used to satisfy the technical and scientific requirement.
Update: TSBDE will count the two (2) hours of CE required for DEA permit holders towards the four (4) hours of CE required for all licensed dentists.